PRESS RELEASE NBCC Foundation 3 Terrace Way Greensboro, NC 27403-3660 Phone: 336-232-0376 nbccf.org



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 4, 2020



NBCC Foundation Awards 40 Addictions Counseling Minority Fellowships

Greensboro, NC – The NBCC Foundation and the Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC) are pleased to announce the 2020 fellowship recipients for the National Board for Certified Counselors Minority Fellowship Program–Addictions Counselors (MFP-AC).

The goals of the program are to strengthen the infrastructure that engages diverse individuals in counseling and increase the number of professional counselors providing effective, culturally competent services to underserved and never-served populations. The NBCC Foundation will distribute \$15,000 to each of the NBCC MFP-AC Fellows to support their education and facilitate their addictions counseling service to underserved populations.

The Minority Fellowship Program Master's in Addictions Counseling Advisory Council, chaired by 2014 MFP Fellow Dr. Tahani Dari, selected these applicants to receive the fellowship award. These fellows meet the eligibility requirements of the program, including:

- commitment to apply for the National Certified Counselor (NCC) certification or for certification from the National Certification Commission for Addiction Professionals (NCC AP) prior to graduation.
- enrollment in a master's program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), a regionally accredited master's-level addictions counseling program or other master's-level counseling program with a concentration in addictions, or an addictions program accredited by the National Addictions Studies Accreditation Commission (NASAC).
- demonstrated knowledge of and experience with racially and ethnically diverse populations.
- commitment to provide addictions counseling services to underserved populations for two years postgraduation.

The fellows will work with NBCC Foundation and NAADAC staff, the MFP Master's Advisory Council, and mentors to achieve the goals of the program.

The 2020 NBCC MFP-AC Fellows are:

Fiona Abrams, Appalachian State University Emma Beale, The University of Toledo Kathleen Diane Becker, University of Denver Phylicia R. Boles, North Carolina A&T State University Clarence Keon Bumpas, Colorado Christian University Olivia M. Corallo, East Carolina University Jessie Butler, Appalachian State University Ofelia Cavazos Chapa, Southern Methodist University Isaac Robert Dieterman, Central Michigan University Kirah N. Doerr, Purdue University Global Lisa Eckles, Antioch University Jim Fox, Colorado State University Jillian M. Grant, North Carolina Central University Margaret Fortescue Green, East Carolina University Tiffany Ellen Harris-Moyer, The University of Texas at San Antonio Kadeedra Ayesha Harrison, Drexel University Fardowsa A. Hassan, University of Minnesota Jasmine Victoria Idrogo, The University of Texas at San Antonio Samona Yvetta Johnson, John Carroll University Achovia Denise Jones, North Carolina A&T State University Ebrahim Mansaray, North Carolina A&T State University Katherine E. Miller, Capella University Heather L. Moser, University of Mary Chanell D. Nash, Texas Tech University Health Science Center Elzetter M. Norris, The University of North Carolina at Pembroke Margarita O'Neal, Walden University Unique Pelletier, Johnson and Wales University Hillary Christyna Reed, The College of William & Mary Andrea Paola Rivera Rios, Universidad Central del Caribe Ebony Breanna Robinson. East Carolina University Darlene Rogan, University of South Dakota Melissa Renee Rozmiarek, University of Minnesota Tiran Sahar, Lewis and Clark Graduate School of Counseling and Education Jakara Tanise Scurry, North Carolina Central University Jesenia Sosa Rivera, Universidad Central del Caribe Tesa L. Tapuriah, Ottawa University Heather A. Wagoner, Colorado Christian University Curtis A. Warren, Coppin State University Taylor James Watson, John Carroll University Conor S. Yeomans. The College of William & Marv

The NBCC MFP-AC is made possible by a grant awarded to the NBCC Foundation in collaboration with NAADAC by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The NBCC Foundation administers the MFP-AC, including training and collaboration activities, such as webinars, that are open to all board certified counselors. The NBCC Foundation has also awarded 20 \$20,000 doctoral fellowships through the MFP and 30 \$10,000 master's-level fellowships through the MFP-Mental Health Counseling-Master's (MHC-M). The NBCC Foundation plans to open the next NBCC MFP-AC application period in fall 2020. To learn more about the NBCC MFP and its fellows, please visit nbccf.org/programs/fellows.

About the NBCC Foundation

The NBCC Foundation is the nonprofit affiliate of the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), based in Greensboro, North Carolina. NBCC is the nation's premier professional certification board devoted to credentialing counselors who meet standards for the general and specialty practices of professional counseling. Currently, there are more than 66,000 board certified counselors in the United States and over 50 countries. The NBCC Foundation's mission is to leverage the power of counseling by strategically focusing resources for positive change.

About the Association for Addiction Professionals

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 100,000 addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals in the United States, Canada, and abroad. NAADAC members are addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support, and education. As an important part of the health care continuum, NAADAC members and 47 state affiliates of the organization work to create healthier individuals, families, and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment, and recovery support.