PRESS RELEASE

NBCC Foundation 3 Terrace Way Greensboro, NC 27403-3660 Phone: 336-232-0376 www.nbccf.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE July 31, 2019



NBCC Foundation Awards 40 Addictions Counseling Minority Fellowships

Greensboro, NC – The NBCC Foundation and the Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC) are pleased to announce the 2019 fellowship recipients for the National Board for Certified Counselors Minority Fellowship Program-Addictions Counselors (MFP-AC).

The goals of the program are to strengthen the infrastructure that engages diverse individuals in counseling and increase the number of professional counselors providing effective, culturally competent services to underserved minority populations. The Foundation will distribute \$15,000 to each of the NBCC MFP-AC fellows to support their education and facilitate their addictions counseling service to underserved minority populations.

The Minority Fellowship Program Master's in Addictions Counseling Advisory Council, chaired by 2014 MFP Fellow Dr. Tahani Dari, selected these applicants to receive the fellowship award. These fellows meet the eligibility requirements of the program, including:

- Committing to apply for the National Certified Counselor (NCC) certification prior to graduation.
- Being enrolled in a master's program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling & Related Educational Programs (CACREP).
- Demonstrating knowledge of and experience with racially and ethnically diverse populations.
- Committing to provide addictions counseling services to underserved minority populations for two years post-graduation.

The fellows will work with Foundation staff, the MFP Master's Advisory Council, and mentors to achieve the goals of the program.

The 2019 MFP-AC Fellows are: Sara Michelle Barnett, Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas; Matthew J Beason, Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina; Helon Belton, The University of Texas at San Antonio in San Antonio, Texas; Sonja L. Bosch, the University of Mary in Bismarck, North Dakota; William (Will) H. Coker IV, George Fox University in Portland, Oregon; Kirsten Cole, Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina; Micheale Lynn Collie, North Carolina Central University in Durham, North Carolina; Cassidy Conway, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte in Charlotte, North Carolina; Shahna Creagan, the University of the Cumberlands in Williamsburg, Kentucky; Steven Jermaine Daggs, Grand Canyon University in Phoenix, Arizona; Elizabeth Ashley Diviney, Waynesburg University in Waynesburg, Pennsylvania; Rhiannon Doyle, the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque, New Mexico; Hilary J. Fitch, Ohio University in Athens, Ohio; Lee-Andre Garvin, the University of Denver in Denver, Colorado; Sarah Louise Hervey, Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado; Kari Q. Humes, Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas; Larry LaMont Joe, North Carolina Central University in Durham, North Carolina; Jessica P. Johnson, Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky; Chase Andrew Klingshirn, The University of Akron in Akron, Ohio; Maria del Carmen Leija Briones, Lewis & Clark College in Portland, Oregon; Kimberly Ann Lewis, John Carroll University in University Heights, Ohio; Jessica G. Martinez, Montclair State University

in Montclair, New Jersey; Tanya Martinez-Cardenas, Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas; Casey Michelle McDevitt, the University of the Cumberlands in Williamsburg, Kentucky; Andrew M. Medina, Adams State University in Alamosa, Colorado; Bianca Maria Milz, Minnesota State University – Moorhead in Moorhead, Minnesota; T'sharin Latrice Moncrief, Troy University Montgomery in Montgomery, Alabama; Deborah Gyuwon Park, The College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia; Kristie H. Pierson, North Carolina Central University in Durham, North Carolina; Erika Dennise Salinas, Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas; Marlon Sango, the University of Colorado in Denver, Colorado; Karishma A.Sarfani, Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas; Cyril M. Scovens B.S., CAC-AD, Coppin State University in Baltimore, Maryland; Samuel, R, Sheeley, Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee; Chera P. Sheets, the University of Colorado – Colorado Springs in Colorado Springs, Colorado; Abigail E. Solis, the University of Colorado – Colorado Springs in Colorado Springs, Colorado; Brenton Swortwood, Washburn University in Topeka, Kansas; Heather Paige Thomas, Antioch University New England in Keene, New Hampshire; Courtney B. Williamson, Walden University in Minneapolis, Minnesota; Christopher B. Wittlinger, Grand Canyon University in Phoenix, Arizona.

The NBCC MFP-AC is made possible by a grant awarded to the NBCC Foundation in collaboration with NAADAC by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The Foundation administers the MFP-AC, including training and collaboration activities, such as <u>webinars</u>, that are open to all NCCs. The NBCC Foundation has also awarded 20 \$20,000 <u>doctoral fellowships</u> through the Minority Fellowship Program and 30 \$10,000 <u>master's-level fellowships</u> through the MFP-Mental Health Counseling Master's (MHC-M). The Foundation plans to open the next NBCC MFP-AC application period in fall 2019. To learn more about the NBCC MFP and its fellows, please visit http://www.nbccf.org/programs/fellows.

About the NBCC Foundation

The NBCC Foundation is the nonprofit affiliate of the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), based in Greensboro, North Carolina. NBCC is the nation's premier professional certification board devoted to credentialing counselors who meet standards for the general and specialty practices of professional counseling. Currently, there are more than 66,000 board-certified counselors in the United States and over 50 countries. The Foundation's mission is to leverage the power of counseling by strategically focusing resources for positive change.

About the Association for Addiction Professionals

NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, represents the professional interests of more than 100,000 addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals in the United States, Canada, and abroad. NAADAC members are addiction counselors, educators, and other addiction-focused health care professionals who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support, and education. As an important part of the health care continuum, NAADAC members and 47 state affiliates of the organization work to create healthier individuals, families, and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment, and recovery support.

###